Convention on the prohibition of the use, stockpiling, production and transfer of anti-personnel mines and on their destruction (Ottawa Treaty)

On 16 September 1998, Burkina Faso deposited its instrument of ratification of the Ottawa treaty banning anti-personnel landmines. The deposit of this 40th instrument of ratification with the United Nations Secretary-General in New York means that on 1 March 1999 the treaty will become binding international law for almost a third of the 130 States which have signed it.

The 40 States which have ratified the Ottawa treaty are: Andorra, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Fiji, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, France, Germany, Grenada, Holy See, Hungary, Ireland, Jamaica, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mexico, Mozambique, Niue, Norway, Peru, Samoa, San Marino, South Africa, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom, Yemen and Zimbabwe.