Declarations of accession and of succession to the Protocol for the Prohibition of Asphyxiating Gases

The Government of the French Republic, which is the depositary of the Protocol for the Prohibition of the Use in War of Asphyxiating, Poisonous or other Gases and of Bacteriological Methods of Warfare, signed at Geneva on 17 June 1925, has received from the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam and the Democratic Republic of the Sudan, their instruments of accession to the Protocol, and from the Government of Papua New Guinea the notification of succession to the same Protocol.

The Protocol states that accessions shall be notified to the Government of the French Republic, and by the latter to all signatory and acceding Powers, and shall take effect on the date of notification by the Government of the French Republic.

Accordingly, the Protocol entered into force on 15 December 1980 for the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, on 17 December 1980 for the Democratic Republic of Sudan, and on 18 December 1980 for Papua New Guinea.

Declaration of intent by the African National Congress

On 28 November 1980, Mr. O. R. Tambo, President of the African National Congress, handed to the President of the ICRC the following declaration, signed by himself:

«... The African National Congress of South Africa hereby declares that... it intends to respect and be guided by the general principles of international humanitarian law applicable in armed conflicts.

Wherever practically possible, the African National Congress of South Africa will endeavour to respect the rules of the four Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949 for the victims of armed conflicts and the 1977 additional Protocol I relating to the protection of victims of international armed conflicts. »