INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE OF THE RED CROSS

President of ICRC and Executive Board re-elected

At its session of 17-18 December 1980, the Assembly of the International Committee of the Red Cross re-elected Mr. Alexandre Hay to the Presidency of the ICRC for a period of four years.

Mr. Hay had succeeded Professor Eric Martin as ICRC President and had taken up his duties on July 1, 1976. He will continue, as ICRC President, to chair the Executive Board.

The ICRC Assembly also re-elected Mr. Richard Pestalozzi, Mr. Jakob Burckhardt, Mr. Athos Gallino and Mr. Rudolf Jäckli to membership of the Executive Board and accepted the resignation of Mrs. Denise Bindschedler-Robert, to whom it expressed its warmest thanks for her distinguished services since the Executive Board was set up in 1973.

Mrs. Bindschedler-Robert remains a member of the Assembly.

The Assembly elected Mrs. Andrée Weitzel, who became a member of the ICRC in 1979, to take Mrs. Bindschedler-Robert's place on the Executive Board.

Ratification of the Protocols

The Swiss Government has received two instruments signifying the ratification by the Lao People's Democratic Republic of the Protocols Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949, and relating to the Protection of Victims of International Armed Conflicts (Protocol I) and of Non-international Armed Conflicts (Protocol II), adopted in Geneva on 8 June 1977.

The instruments were registered by the Swiss Government on 18 November 1980. The Protocols, in accordance with their provisions, will enter into force for the Lao People's Democratic Republic six months after the instruments of ratification have been deposited, namely on 18 May 1981.

This ratification brings to seventeen the number of States parties to Protocol I, and sixteen to Protocol II.