IN GENEVA

VICE-PRESIDENCY OF THE ICRC

Mr. Hans Bachmann continues to be Vice-President of the Committee for 1969, whilst Mr. Jacques Freymond has been appointed Vice-President for 1969 and 1970.

PRESIDENTIAL COUNCIL

Apart from the President and the two Vice-Presidents, who are ex officio members of the Council, the International Committee elected the following members for 1969: Miss Marjorie Duvillard, Mr. Roger Gallopin, Mr. Hans Meuli, Mr. Marcel Naville, Mr. Jean Pictet and Mr. Jacques de Rougemont.

Token of Gratitude

The now traditional ceremony at which the International Committee expresses its gratitude to staff members with twenty years of service to their credit took place on 19 December 1968. This year it was to Mr. Robert Melley that Mr. F. Siordet, Vice-President, in the absence of the President, conveyed the institution's appreciation for his loyalty to the Red Cross mission and presented him with a silver plate on which his name was engraved.

Mr. Melley thanked the International Committee and stated the profound reasons why those who serve the Red Cross remain true to an ideal as well as to the institution. It was, he said, a privilege to contribute to a mission which not only demands but also motivates dedication.