IRRC No. 285

Presidential mission: Headquarters agreement between the State of Kuwait and the ICRC

Reading time 1 min read
Download PDF

A headquarters agreement was signed on 30 October 1991 between H.E. Sheikh Sabah Salem al Sabah, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs of the State of Kuwait, and Mr. Cornelio Sommaruga, President of the ICRC, to pave the way for the opening of an ICRC regional delegation for the Arabian peninsula. In addition to Kuwait itself, the delegation, which will have its headquarters in Kuwait City, will cover Bahrain, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen. The agreement will enter into force once it has been ratified by the Council of Ministers in Kuwait.

Continue reading #IRRC No. 285